Professor Sir Richard Henry Friend, FRS

University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Professor Sir Richard Henry Friend, FRS holds the Cavendish Professorship of Physics at the University of Cambridge. He is Director of the Winton Programme for the Physics of Sustainability and of the Maxwell Centre. He is also a Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Professor at the National University of Singapore and serves as Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of the National Research Foundation (NRF) of Singapore. In addition, he is one of the principal investigators in the new Cambridge-based Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration (IRC) on nanotechnology and co-founder of Cambridge Display Technology (CDT) and Plastic Logic.

Owned more than 20 patents, had 164.623 prestigious scientific publications worldwide and co-authored over 1.000 publications, Professor Sir Richard Henry Friend, FRS is one of the most influential physics scientists in the world; he also serves as the Council member of many prestigious global Prizes.

He and his group has developed polymer-processing techniques for conjugated polymers, and demonstrated non-linear electronic excitations through electrical and optical measurements. First construction of MOSFET (Metal Insulator Semiconductor Field Effect Transistor) with polyacetylene as active semiconductor, and demonstration of novel mechanism of operation, with novel behaviour and made the first construction of efficient, large area, polymeric semi-conductor LED's (Light Emitting Diodes), based on polyphenylene-vinylene. His research on OLED has been used to develop flat screens, scroll screens and motion screens for the future. The most well-known application is OLED TV. His work has also been applied to develop the polymer field-effect transistors, light-emitting diodes, photoelectric diodes, optical pump-proof tubes and direct-printed polymer transistors.

With such world-renowned reputation and achievements in his research and teaching, Professor Sir Richard Henry Friend,FRS has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) in 2002. His notable honors and awards include: the IEE's Faraday Medal in 2003, the Honorary Doctorate from Heriot-Watt University in 2006, the Institute of Physics Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize with Dr David Ffye on 2009, the Millennium Technology Prize for the development of plastic electronics in 2010. He was knighted for "Services to Physics" in the 2003 Birthday Honours.