VinFuture Prize Council

Professor Susan Solomon
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)

Professor Susan Solomon currently serves as the Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Studies and Chair of the Program in Atmospheres, Oceans and Climate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA.

Previously, she assumed the role of Ellen Swallow Richards Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry & Climate Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Acting Director at the Atmospheric Chemistry Division of the National Center for Atmospheric Research, and Senior Scientist and Research Chemist at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

She is internationally recognized for her outstanding contributions to the elucidation of Antarctic ozone “hole” and to our understanding of the intricate interaction between atmospheric chemistry and climate change.

With an illustrious career, she received many awards, including the National Medal of Science in 1999, Volvo Environmental Prize 2009, Crafoord Prize of the Swedish Academy of Sciences In 2018, and VinFuture Special Prize for Female Innovators 2023.